viscosity menu icon won't drop down

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

ipguy

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:44 pm

Post by ipguy » Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:52 pm
I'm wondering if i'm the only one that is experiencing this issue

When I try to access the viscosity menu icon in the MacOS menu the viscosity application menu does not drop down to allow you to select the VPN you want to connect to.

The only way for this to work is if you select the viscosity application in the application folder, at this point selecting the viscosity menu icon does drop down the menu

I've reinstalled the application a number of times but the issue persists.

Anyone having this issue ?

James

User avatar
Posts: 1993
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Tue Oct 06, 2020 5:38 am
Hi ipguy,

Please ensure that you have the latest version of Viscosity installed (currently version 1.8.6). Old versions of Viscosity are unlikely to work correctly on newer versions of macOS.

If you already have the latest version installed, then it sounds likely there is an old version of Viscosity (that is incompatible with your version of macOS) on your machine, and this is the copy that is being started at login. macOS will start the first copy of Viscosity it finds when starting an application as a login item, and this may not always be the copy you expect.

I recommend doing a Spotlight search for Viscosity and removing any old duplicate copies.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

Chipwexler

Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:35 pm

Post by Chipwexler » Sun Oct 25, 2020 11:38 pm
Hi Sparklabs,

I have same issue on a complete new macOS install. Old install had it too.

Chip

James

User avatar
Posts: 1993
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Mon Oct 26, 2020 7:45 pm
Hi Chip,

I recommend checking you have the latest version of Viscosity installed.

Please also note that re-installing macOS will only clear any installs of older versions if the drive was completely erased before installation, and no data transfer utilities (for example Migration Assistant) were used. I recommend performing a Spotlight search for "Viscosity" and seeing if it finds any old copies to remove.

Basically what is going on is that old versions of Viscosity are incompatible with the newer versions of macOS. These versions will freeze/partially-crash at launch, meaning that the Viscosity icon will display, however the menu will be unresponsive. If an old version is present somewhere on the computer, macOS's Login Item system may mistakenly find it first and launch it (instead of the newer copy). Occasionally an old copy can be found in an unexpected location, for example left behind by the Sparkle updater in ~/Library/Caches/ if an update attempt failed.

Sometimes manually removing the Login Item and then re-adding it can resolve the problem:
https://support.apple.com/en-au/guide/m ... h15189/mac

However the only guaranteed way we've seen is to find the old copy and remove it.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

ipguy

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:44 pm

Post by ipguy » Wed Oct 28, 2020 9:05 am
Hi James

I am running the latest version of viscosity on a clean build of MacOS, issue persists

ipguy

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:44 pm

Post by ipguy » Thu Oct 29, 2020 4:27 pm
This is a know issue as advised by Chip...
Can we get some feedback regarding this bug please.
6 posts Page 1 of 1