Page 1 of 1

Bug + Automount Net-Volumes

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:16 am
by piranha
Hi,

First there is a bug in the connection details, the middle tap isn't right

Image

Is it possible to automount net-volumes in the finder, when you connect in Viscosity?

Thanks for reading.

Greets
Michael

Re: Bug + Automount Net-Volumes

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:59 pm
by James
Hi Michael,

Thanks for the bug report. It appears to be an issue with the translation - it'll be corrected in the next version.
Is it possible to automount net-volumes in the finder, when you connect in Viscosity?
Yes - however it does require a little scripting. Basically you'll need to write your own up/down scripts (see OpenVPN's "up" and "down" commands) that mount the network volume for you when you disconnect (and optionally unmount it when you disconnect).

Writing such a script is fairly easy - see the following Mac OS X Hints article. Once you have your script/s, Edit your connection in Viscosity, click the Advanced tab, and add the appropriate up and/or down commands. You'll need to turn off DNS Support for this to work (under the General tab).

If you want DNS support and the ability to auto-mount network volumes you'll need to add your auto-mounting commands to Viscosity's DNS support scripts (e.g. Viscosity.app/Contents/Resources/dnsup.py), however this starts to get somewhat complicated (and requires a knowledge of Python).

Cheers,
James

Re: Bug + Automount Net-Volumes

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:53 am
by piranha
Hi James,

Thanks for the detailed answer.

Would it not be easier and great btw if you can choose a automator workflow after (un)connect?

Re: Bug + Automount Net-Volumes

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:46 am
by James
Would it not be easier and great btw if you can choose a automator workflow after (un)connect?
Which is a feature which should be coming soon :)

Cheers,
James