frequently dropping connections and ALL trafic

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

world2see

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:30 am

Post by world2see » Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:56 am
I recently got Witopia because it looks great, But when I tried connecting some sites would report I was in the wrong location so I started checking the IP which reported my ISP. I contacted Witopia and they said they had no Idea, sometimes it would report correctly and sometime not. I was not convinced all my traffic was going through the VPN so I started looking around and ran accross the website. Read the issue with clicking Send all traffic over VPN and clicked all my potential servers. Maybe its there servers but they seem to be dropping out after only a few minutes and I have to manually reset them. Occassionally close Viscosity and restart it.
1. How do I know all my traffic is going over the VPN
2. If the buttons unclicked how do I know what is and what isn't.
3. Why is it continually dropping the connection. The other VPN would stay connected a lot longer.

Can you have the active connections flow to the top rather be static in their folders(I select them according to my prefered countries.)

James

User avatar
Posts: 1985
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:18 am
Hi world2see,
1. How do I know all my traffic is going over the VPN
The routing table will show you where your traffic goes by default. See the "Checking For A Routing Problem" at the bottom of the following article:
http://www.thesparklabs.com/support/tro ... _problems/

Basically you'll want to make sure your traffic is going through the VPN interface by default by looking for a route destination of "0/1". If this exists, and the Netif is tun0, then your traffic is going through your VPN connection by default. If not, your computer probably isn't sending network traffic via the VPN interface by default.
2. If the buttons unclicked how do I know what is and what isn't.
My understanding is that WiTopia have the "Send all traffic over VPN connection" option pushed out from their servers. What this means is that even if you have it unticked at Viscosity's end, it will still be turned on (as their servers are telling Viscosity to turn it on). So it doesn't matter whether you have this ticked or not.
3. Why is it continually dropping the connection. The other VPN would stay connected a lot longer.
You'll need to take a look at the OpenVPN log to gain a better understanding of why the connection may be dropping. See:
http://www.thesparklabs.com/support/vie ... envpn_log/

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

world2see

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:30 am

Post by world2see » Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:13 am
What if its tun2
0/1 vpn-cust-10-119-0- UGSc 7 0 tun2


I check my IP and it list my ISP. Is it possible that they are having problems with there servers not pushing out the command or that something else is turning it off.

world2see

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:30 am

Post by world2see » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:45 pm
on a slightly different tack it looked like little snitch was saying all the traffic was going through the VPN. It would also be very beneficial to me to have an indicator showing which server it was using for the traffic as it can be connected to multiple but only sends over one at a time.

James

User avatar
Posts: 1985
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:26 pm
An interface of tun2 should be fine - however the fact it's not tun0 could indicate that other connections may be stuck in the background. I'd recommend restarting your computer, and then connecting your VPN connection again and see if you have the same problem.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

world2see

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:30 am

Post by world2see » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:11 am
Thanks You haven't really answered the question though. If I am logged in it should be showing the IP address from the server yet with this log in Feb 10 19:45:09: /Applications/Viscosity.app/Contents/Resources/dnsup.py tun1 1500 1544 10.119.6.214 10.119.6.213 init WIth IP2Address.com I get my local IP. I am finding it really frustrating knowing even if its going through the VPN or not as it would appear by displaying the local IP that it is not.
My other thought is, does it mean that somehow the connection through Witopia is passing my IP through their servers. Either way its becoming very, very frustrating for me.

James

User avatar
Posts: 1985
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:59 pm
Try this:

1. Restart your computer
2. Visit www.whatismyip.com and record the IP address it lists
3. Connect your VPN connection
4. Go to www.whatismyip.com again and make a note of the IP address

If both of the addresses are the same, then your computer is not using the VPN connection. If the second one is different, then it is.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

world2see

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:30 am

Post by world2see » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:52 am
Not absolutely sure, but I suspect that A safari plug in I had that supposedly blocked facebook popups was causing my problem, time will tell though.
8 posts Page 1 of 1