Remember window position

Suggestions/comments/criticisms are welcome here

Raven_

Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:01 am

Post by Raven_ » Sun Jun 15, 2014 5:09 am
hi all,

I don't know... Maybe it is for a next update or so... I can only ask ;) but is it possible that viscosity remember is last window position? Because I use Little Snitch 'Network Monitor'
And now with VPN I use Viscosity Details window very often and I like to see it open under the window of LS... With a possibility if Viscosity starts up the Details window opens direct... putting it on/off in the pref or so?

And I don't know if this is necessary... but when having to choose between 20 servers for connecting to openVPN and only have the possibility to connect only the same one? Making this random? Always a different server when connecting.. is this safer?

Kind regards,
Raven.

Reason for edit:
Maybe the wrong forum?

James

User avatar
Posts: 1932
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:15 am
Hi Raven_,

Thanks for your feedback.
is it possible that viscosity remember is last window position?
Viscosity leaves it to Mac OS X for windows position and size management: it should remember positioning and sizing while Viscosity is open and across sleeps, but not if you quit/reopen Viscosity (or restart). We did considering saving position information and restoring it at start, however it is a bit of a nightmare supporting it from Mac OS 10.5 though to 10.10.

This is as they all have different monitor management (i.e. you need to deal with screens going missing, chaining resolutions, spaces, app switching, full screen switching, and so on). We'll eventually have to drop support for some of the older versions of Mac OS X, and we'll revisit the option of implementing it then.

For now, a workaround would be to use AppleScript to set the position and size of Viscosity's Details window. The following posts might help:
http://apple.stackexchange.com/question ... nd-display
http://superuser.com/questions/257411/i ... ipt-automa

You could perhaps also look at a third party utility like:
http://cordlessdog.com/stay/
And I don't know if this is necessary... but when having to choose between 20 servers for connecting to openVPN and only have the possibility to connect only the same one? Making this random? Always a different server when connecting.. is this safer?
I'm afraid I'm unsure what you mean here. If you'd like to have a single connection that randomly selects a server to use you can do so by specifying multiple servers for a connection:
http://www.sparklabs.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3861#p3861

If you're after advice on how to use your connections you're probably better off getting in touch with your VPN Service Provider:
http://www.sparklabs.com/support/how_do ... _my_vpn_p/

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

Raven_

Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:01 am

Post by Raven_ » Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:46 pm
Thank you James,

For the Deatails window from Viscosity I love it like this:
Image
I tried already before I post it here with Automator a Apple script but no luck with that except it starts always the program up on that position etc... but never the Details window...
Maybe once... ;)

That other questions was for a random picking order to choose between all the different servers... in my case 18 servers of them.
Now for the moment I start always up from 1 server UK London every time when starting up Viscosity... so I was thinking what about the other? Do I need them or is random picking good and safer? I gonne ask this at the providers forum ;)
Image
But I have already make an entry "startUp" with your tip viewtopic.php?p=3861#p3861
If one server fails...

Kind regards and thankful.
3 posts Page 1 of 1