Auto reconnect on authentication failure

Suggestions/comments/criticisms are welcome here

chamm

Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:58 am

Post by chamm » Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:12 am
First off, I want to praise the hard work that went into this product. I use it, love it and recommend it to people in our company. We use an Astaro firewall, and the Windows client distributed with the firewall is less than desirable.

One humble request: For whatever reason, (probably a dicey LDAP connection on the back end) our firewall occasionally (like, once a day occasionally) will throw a random authentication failure when trying to connect with saved credentials. Now, the saved credentials aren't really incorrect, but our firewall decides to reject them anyway. When this happens, Viscosity clears out my saved credentials, forcing me to re-type them. Would there be a way instead of just automatically clearing the saved credentials on a failure, to offer a manual retry with the same credentials? Obviously, I don't want it auto-spamming the firewall with bad credentials if I really did put in bad credentials and locking out my account. Ideally, there would be a manual way to try the same credentials instead of deleting them, and it would save me a lot of time.

This is the default behavior for TunnelBlick, which I use at home on my Mac occasionally. When the failure happens, a window pops up which says something to the effect of "Try again with same credentials" or "Enter new credentials." 99 times out of 100, the try again option works for me. This turns a random disconnect into a two-click process rather than having to re-enter my 40 character password again.

At any rate, such a feature would make this a perfect product in my eyes. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my post.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:44 pm
Hi chamm,

Thanks for the feedback. I'm not sure if we can squeeze it into the next release (1.4) at this point, we can definitely have a look into it for 1.4.1.

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

chamm

Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:58 am

Post by chamm » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:01 am
I see that this feature wasn't contained in the latest release. I'm not complaining, because I sill love the product, and the new release has many great improvements. However, is this still on the list of possible additions? Thanks!

James

User avatar
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:21 pm
Hi chamm,

Yes, it's still something we're working on. We're trying to do it in a less-kludgy fashion (as for 99% it does mean their password is no longer valid, so we don't want to add extra click-throughs). At this stage it looks likely we'll still reset the details in the Keychain automatically. However the pop-up for re-entering your login won't be blank, instead it will be pre-filled with the login details from the Keychain before it was reset (so all you need to do is click the enter button).

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
4 posts Page 1 of 1