Shut internet connections when vpn fails.

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

0verfl0w

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Post by 0verfl0w » Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:04 pm
Hey. I was using viscosity on windows 7 and it worked like a charm - when vpn drops I couldn't reach any internet and had to reconnect wifi before I could even try to reinitialize vpn connection and like it.

Now I switched to windows 8.1 made same settings (I guess) and that doesn't work. Can you help me?

Image
Image

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:28 am
Hi 0verfl0w,

I'm afraid the routing trick will not work on Windows 8.1.

Using Reset network interfaces on disconnect may work, but you will need to ensure that your wifi network is not set to automatically connect.

Otherwise, we have some other suggestions here - http://www.sparklabs.com/support/preven ... fic_leaks/

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

0verfl0w

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Post by 0verfl0w » Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:14 pm
Is it going to be fixed somehow? I decided to roll back to windows 7 on weekend, but still in love with windows 10 preview and want to switch as soon as it released. I guess that trick won't work on windows 10 same as 8/8.1 ... :cry: :cry: :cry:

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:05 pm
Hi 0verfl0w,

There is nothing we can do to fix this, it is simply a trick that used to work on Windows XP due to how it handled routing, and will no longer work from Windows Vista onwards. The fact you have managed to get it to work on Windows 7 is probably due to a firewall application, a specific combination of routes your VPN Provider is pushing or similar. The scripting methods work (and are far more reliable) and thus we recommend these methods are used.

We are planning to add a kill switch type feature in a future release, though I'm afraid this is some way off yet.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

0verfl0w

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Post by 0verfl0w » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:13 am
That's so strange.. It was easily working on 4-5 installs of windows 7 without any extra firewall or antivirus software.. I actually don't install anything network releated..

Can you please point me what I have to do? I don't have automatic network connection to my wifi, but I have my password saved. I've added "remap-usr1 SIGTERM" to connection>advanced. Plus screenshots of my configuration in a first post. What should I do next?

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:45 am
Hi 0verfl0w,

In this case, the routing trick is actually doing nothing. What will be happening is when you disconnect, the network adapters will be resetting (as you have selected) and the wifi simply won't be reconnecting as you do not have it set to automatically reconnect.

There was an issue in the latest release with resetting network connections in some circumstances. Please try updating to the latest beta (1.5.6b1) and see if this is working for you again.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

beaconterraone

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:10 pm

Post by beaconterraone » Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:31 pm
I just made a post about a similar issue. I've used a VBS kill script instead, and found out a few hours ago it no longer works under 8.1.

If you're willing to use a kill script to shut down program(s), check out my post.
7 posts Page 1 of 1