Metro App unable connect to internet

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

NanoG6

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:47 pm

Post by NanoG6 » Mon May 27, 2019 12:23 pm
Hi, whenever I am connected to VPN (via http proxy) metro app is unable connect to internet. Application like Windows Mail app, Microsoft To Do, OneNote (all installed through Microsoft Store) is unable detect internet, while I can browse the internet just fine using browser, or ping and tracert using cmd.
Anyone having same issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 906
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue May 28, 2019 11:43 am
Hi NanoG6,

It sounds like Microsoft Services may be being blocked, or the public IP address has been blacklisted by Microsoft services. I recommend you contact your VPN Provider for assistance with this.

https://sparklabs.com/support/kb/article/how-do-i-find-out-who-my-vpn-provider-is/

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

NanoG6

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:47 pm

Post by NanoG6 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:36 pm
Hi Eric, my solution to this problem is manually add the LAN gateway in viscosity network interface.

However, today I installed latest BETA version and the solution failed to work. Just to let you know :)

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 906
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:40 pm
Hi NanoG6,

The latest beta should allow you to use Metro Apps without needing to make any changes to the adapter. To make sure the solution you've been using isn't causing any issues, I'd recommend removing the adapter via Device Manager, or uninstalling and reinstalling Viscosity, then trying to connect again.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

NanoG6

Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 6:47 pm

Post by NanoG6 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:12 pm
Awww yess it works! I don't need to manually edit the adapter. Connection attempt is also faster than previous version. Keep up the good work Eric, thank you.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 906
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:06 pm
Thanks for the feedback, NanoG6, it's very much appreciated!
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
6 posts Page 1 of 1