Reachability check fails:Address could not be resolved

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

sjgibbs65

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:02 pm

Post by sjgibbs65 » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:22 pm
Hi,
I am using a connection profile that was originally created a while back on a different machine, but has worked on several other machines, both work and home, until now. I now have a different home PC with Windows 10 and I am unable to get Viscosity to connect.

Now, when I attempt to connect from home, the reachability check fails and the messages in the log show:
Checking reachability status of "<host>.<domain>.com"... (redacted for privacy)
Resolving address: "<host>.<domain>.com"
Address could not be resolved: "<host>.<domain>.com".
Endpoint is not reachable, skipping.

No usable connection profiles are present
No valid endpoints available.
State changed to Disconnected

However, from Windows Command prompt, tracert shows the <host>.<domain>.com should be reachable:
>tracert <host>.<domain>.com

Tracing route to <host>.<domain>.com [<IP addr>]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms homeportal [192.168.236.1]

18 201 ms 201 ms 201 ms <host>.<domain>.com [<IP addr>]

Trace complete.

So, I don't understand what is causing Viscosity to fail.

I know my ISP provides a gateway which prevents me from modifying the DNS used, but tracert works, so that seems to be okay. The firewall also is set to allow Viscosity to work. What else on this new PC might be the culprit?

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 985
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:46 am
Hi sjgibbs65,

As a first step, please restart your PC. As this is a new setup, if you've installed a whole lot of applications at once it could simply be a case that your PC needs a reboot to clear some stuck ports.

Upon rebooting, if the problem still exists, please try the following:

- Ensure no Firewall or AV applications are blocking ViscosityService or Viscosity
- Try disabling any AV software temporarily
- Disable any developer tools you have running if any
- Try replacing the address with the servers IP address to test

Let us know how you get on.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

sjgibbs65

Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:02 pm

Post by sjgibbs65 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:42 am
Hi Eric,

Thank you for the reply.

The machine had been rebooted many times, the AV checked for blocking comm, the AV turned off, etc., all to no avail.

Ping would successfully find the machine:
ping -n 3 <host>.<domain>.com (redacted for privacy)

Pinging <host>.<domain>.com [XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150: bytes=32 time=206ms TTL=45
Reply from XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150: bytes=32 time=209ms TTL=45
Reply from XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150: bytes=32 time=206ms TTL=45

Ping statistics for XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150:
Packets: Sent = 3, Received = 3, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 206ms, Maximum = 209ms, Average = 207ms

But Viscosity would not reach the machine and fail as I indicated in my initial post.

I was able to finally solve the issue by a simple edit to the C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file, where I put the XXX.YYY.ZZZ.150 <host>.<domain>.com entry on its own line.

As soon as hosts was saved, Viscosity would reach the machine and connect.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 985
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:32 am
Hi sjgibbs65,

Thanks for letting us know. We'll look into adding some more detail to the log for what is going on.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
4 posts Page 1 of 1