Connection hanging - how to get diagnostic information?

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

blackpuma

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:00 am

Post by blackpuma » Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:10 am
I had an unexpected deadline dumped on me that kept me from giving Viscosity Windows a good workout. I'm getting my head back into this.

Just for a quick-and-dirty run, I re-downloaded the beta, threw it on an XP virtual machine (VMware), grabbed the OpenVPN packet from our firewall. So far so good. When I attempt to connect, it's hanging. (I'll also pull out a Win7 test VM.)

How do I provide diagnostic information?


(I use the Mac version of Viscosity to connect to the firewall daily from my home office, like right now. I'm quite confident that it's the Windows software.)
Attachments
viscosity.jpg
viscosity.jpg (23.78 KiB) Viewed 8514 times

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 960
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:03 pm
Hi blackpuma,

The next beta will print out the better logs (in the last release, the logs were only printing at certain steps). When you say it hangs, is the whole program failing to respond, or it's just sitting at the connecting step forever?

If you then go to disconnect, are there any crashes or errors thrown?

Also in your VM, are you using a NAT or Bridged connection?

The next beta should be out in the next 2-3 days, hopefully that will give us a better idea of whats going on.

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

blackpuma

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:00 am

Post by blackpuma » Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:20 am
Eric wrote:
When you say it hangs, is the whole program failing to respond, or it's just sitting at the connecting step forever?
I'm not thinking with my QA hat on. I should have been more precise.

It's sitting at the connecting step forever. I have the Leopard red/orange/green icons selected (I like them because they're clear and unambiguous). It sits on the orange icon with the moving white dots.
If you then go to disconnect, are there any crashes or errors thrown?
No, it disconnects fine with the normal bubble notification.
Also in your VM, are you using a NAT or Bridged connection?
Bridged.

Because of past experiences with bad mojo between NAT and VPNs, I just assumed bridged was necessary.
Attachments
WV Admin-11.jpg
Normal disconnect
WV Admin-11.jpg (16.55 KiB) Viewed 8508 times

blackpuma

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:00 am

Post by blackpuma » Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:24 am
Just to be absolutely clear, here is a snapshot of what it looks like when it is connecting forever. I don't see anything I wouldn't expect to see.
WV Admin.jpg
Connection notifications.
WV Admin.jpg (36.83 KiB) Viewed 8508 times

blackpuma

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:00 am

Post by blackpuma » Sat Mar 05, 2011 4:43 am
One thing that I did not notice yesterday, but is happening consistently at the moment is the following.
  1. I start the VM. Viscosity starts automatically because I have the option selected to do so.
  2. I attempt to connect. It hangs per above.
  3. I disconnect. It shows the disconnect message without an error.
  4. I attempt to connect again.
  5. I get a password request dialog.
    WV Admin-13.jpg
    Password request dialog.
    WV Admin-13.jpg (26.26 KiB) Viewed 8507 times
  6. I the certificate has no password, so I press OK without typing a password.
  7. Viscosity shows the JKvmWVadmin-TO-SW is Disconnected message.
  8. Any further connection attempts displays the password dialog.
  9. If I reboot the VM, the process is repeatable from step one.
I thought perhaps I made an error generating the certificate. The VMware host machine is my Mac workstation running Viscosity. I imported the certificate into the Mac Viscosity. It connects without asking for a password, so I assume that the certificate is fine.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 960
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:36 am
Now that makes things a bit more interesting. The only reason a password request should pop up is because OpenVPN is asking for it. Are you sure you didn't generate it wanting a password? Can you check your Mac keychain just to double check there isnt a password for that file already saved.

Beta version 0.7 will be out soon. This should fix the original problem you were experiencing.

Thanks for your input so far!

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

blackpuma

Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:00 am

Post by blackpuma » Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:17 am
I'm 99% sure there is no password, but because you say that this is being driven by OpenVPN, I'll go back and start from scratch with a new certificate from the firewall, and retrace my steps carefully.

If it persists I'll log that as a different problem.
7 posts Page 1 of 1