Icon in system tray should show clear status

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

CSM

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 3:50 pm

Post by CSM » Mon May 22, 2017 3:53 pm
Make the Icon in the system try show clear red/green/amber status. It looks like there might be a few pixels that do show something already, but you can't see them enough to know if you have a connection status. Make the icon show this connection clearly.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1146
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Fri May 26, 2017 10:12 am
Hi CSM,

If you are having problems seeing the default Windows system tray icons, please take a look at a different icon set in Preferences -> Appearance. The Windows World and Leopard Colored are very easy to see the status at a glance.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

mph

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 18, 2023 10:12 pm

Post by mph » Thu May 18, 2023 10:17 pm
Fri May 26, 2017 10:12 amEric wrote:
Hi CSM,

If you are having problems seeing the default Windows system tray icons, please take a look at a different icon set in Preferences -> Appearance. The Windows World and Leopard Colored are very easy to see the status at a glance.
Hi, I would very much like to use a clearer set of icons, like this set, which is far, far better than the default:
Viscosity-icons.png
Viscosity-icons.png (32.64 KiB) Viewed 2105 times
My problem is that the setting does not "stick". It's just never saved, and I have to configure it every single time, and this is annoying.

Where is the setting being stored, please? Could it be a registry key or file that's locked, and it can't save? My company doesn't allow me admin rights, and Viscosity is installed via Intune. Everything else appears to work.

Aaron

Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:53 pm

Post by Aaron » Mon May 22, 2023 8:54 am
Hi mph,

It sounds probable that your IT administrator is forcing the menu icon setting to a particular value. There are a number of ways an admin could do this, such as via Viscosity's GlobalSettings.xml file, via GPO Group Policy, or via MDM settings management. I'm afraid only your IT admin would be able to change this: I recommend reaching out to them.

Further information about GlobalSettings.xml:
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... l-settings

Further information about GPO Group Policy:
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... vironment/

Regards,
Aaron
Web: https://www.sparklabs.com
Support: https://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sparklabs

mph

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 18, 2023 10:12 pm

Post by mph » Mon May 22, 2023 6:10 pm
Thanks. Yes, I have now found a global settings file which is overriding every single setting of my own.
5 posts Page 1 of 1