"Auth" choice under Socksproxy greyed out

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

vordakk

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:39 pm

Post by vordakk » Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:50 pm
The list is available under "HTTP proxy" but doesn't work for Socks, so I can't connect due to authentication error.

I have 1.11.2 (1820) - is that the latest beta???

Because it says no updates available but though customer email I was informed you guys had a beta fix scheduled for a week ago... but I'm still stuck. Any concrete info what to expect here and if it'll be fixed soon? Or I need to look for another solution :(

Aaron

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:53 pm

Post by Aaron » Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:03 am
Hi,

An updated beta version addressing this was released last week. I believe the current beta version at the time of writing is 1.11.3b4. Please ensure that you have checked the "Include beta versions" box before checking for an update:
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... -versions/

Regards,
Aaron
Web: https://www.sparklabs.com
Support: https://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sparklabs

vordakk

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:39 pm

Post by vordakk » Wed Jul 10, 2024 2:58 am
Wed Jul 10, 2024 12:03 amAaron wrote:
An updated beta version addressing this was released last week. I believe the current beta version at the time of writing is 1.11.3b4. Please ensure that you have checked the "Include beta versions" box before checking for an update:
I did... and it really was out but I was waiting all this time? I asked via email, maybe you should have answered that. Looks like something might be wrong with fetching the update, it doesn't work:

Image

Image

I'm still on old non-beta version and it says no update

(tried to uncheck the box, close app, relaunch, check the beta box, relaunch again, so maybe settings get properly saved, but nothing, still no updates available)

vordakk

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:39 pm

Post by vordakk » Wed Jul 10, 2024 7:55 pm
and what of it? is 'no update' a bug or can I do something else on my end? or do you maybe have .exe for the beta version that I can use to install?

Aaron

Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:53 pm

Post by Aaron » Mon Jul 15, 2024 7:17 pm
Hi,

Something is likely blocking your access to the update server, or something is caching an old version of the update feed.

Make sure no firewall or security software on your computer could be blocking Viscosity from performing an update check. Also make sure checks are not being blocked by any firewall rules on your router/network, and that your ISP is not blocking access to certain websites. It may be worth trying to connect to a different network (for example, you can try tethering Windows to a phone hotspot) and see whether an update check works. If you have a working VPN connection that routes all network traffic, you could also try connecting that and then perform an update check.

If you are using Viscosity in an enterprise environment, some enterprise networks may attempt to cache network traffic (typically using a transparent proxy) to save bandwidth. If this is the case, it could be caching an old copy of the update feed. You'll either need to wait for the cache to update, or perform an update check while connected to a different network.

If you're still stuck, we expect to have a full release of version 1.11.3 available in the next week or two (dependant on when OpenVPN 2.6.12 is released).

Regards,
Aaron
Web: https://www.sparklabs.com
Support: https://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sparklabs

vordakk

Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2024 9:39 pm

Post by vordakk » Mon Jul 15, 2024 7:29 pm
Mon Jul 15, 2024 7:17 pmAaron wrote:
If you are using Viscosity in an enterprise environment, some enterprise networks may attempt to cache network traffic (typically using a transparent proxy) to save bandwidth. If this is the case, it could be caching an old copy of the update feed. You'll either need to wait for the cache to update, or perform an update check while connected to a different network.
Perhaps this might have been the case but not sure. Either way, the way I've just dealt with it yesterday was downloading and updating Viscosity on other machine, fetching the update from temp files, moving it and manually installing where I wanted it. Now I have another problem with proxy and not sure how to solve.
6 posts Page 1 of 1