Time Machine

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

daenney

Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:25 pm

Post by daenney » Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:28 pm
Viscosity has this cute little box you can tick stating:
Code: Select all
Disable Time Machine Backups when connected
What I'm not getting, is why? Does Time Machne go haywire when openVPN is connected (isn't openVPN just another connection)?

PS, could you please kill the text-align:center; entry in your CSS, it's killing me reading the forums, this seems to be an Opera-only thing...

James

User avatar
Posts: 1980
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:37 pm
Hi daenney,

The option is for people who run their Time Machine backups over a network (rather than to a external hard-drive).

What some users found was when they VPNed into their home/work network, Time Machine would try and start backing up over the VPN connection (as suddenly it could see their backup server). This doesn't work too well if your using a slow Hotel/wireless/etc Internet connection. So the "Disable Time Machine" option provides a way to stop Time Machine from backing up while your computer is connected to the VPN.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

daenney

Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:25 pm

Post by daenney » Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:29 am
Ohw right, perfect, that explains eveyrthing :).

eashman

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 11:41 am

Post by eashman » Mon May 06, 2013 11:46 am
I was realizing today that this feature is a universal option ---

It would be great if this could also be specified on a per-connection basis.

Reason being, I have some VPNs I keep active even when I'm at my office where my remote Time Machine server is. With the option checked, TM will never run for me because the other tunnels I use are always active, regardless if I'm home, office, etc.

Any ideas on that? I can't be the only one with multiple tunnels and this situation.

BTW- amazing product. I bought licenses for my entire company to use it with PCs and Macs.

-Eric

James

User avatar
Posts: 1980
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Mon May 13, 2013 1:23 pm
Hi Eric,

Thanks for the feedback - we'll take it on board and see what we can do.

A workaround in the meantime would be to create a route (for the connections you don't want Time Machine to work for) that points the IP address of the Time Machine server to an invalid gateway or localhost (such as 127.0.0.1), as that will stop Mac OS X from being able to contact the Time Machine server to do a backup. This can be done from the Networking tab when editing your connection/s.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

mitup

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:11 am

Post by mitup » Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:36 pm
I'm backing up to a Time Capsule, so that's over the network. Is there any way to check if Time Machine is routing the data through the VPN or not?

James

User avatar
Posts: 1980
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:26 pm
Hi mitup,

The easiest way would be to simply open up Viscosity's Details window, tell Time Machine to perform a backup, and then watch the traffic graph to see if the backup traffic is going through the VPN connection.

However it should be noted that Time Machine may only try and backup over a VPN connection when you are VPNing into the same network as where the Time Machine storage device is (such as a Time Capsule). VPN connections to other networks, such as with a VPN Service Provider, etc., won't have Time Machine backups going over them.

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
7 posts Page 1 of 1