Pre-Logon Connect

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

datevat

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:27 pm

Post by datevat » Sat Aug 17, 2019 5:21 am
Hello,
can be it be done (without 3rd party tools) or is the feature planned? It would very much make lots of things way easier here...
Thanks

datevat

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:27 pm

Post by datevat » Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:06 pm
Sorry, this landed in the wrong forum: the question pertains to the windows version. Please move the post. Thank you.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:33 am
Hi datevat,

This is currently not possible with Viscosity but is a planned feature.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

datevat

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:27 pm

Post by datevat » Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:57 pm
I found some older references, so while I'm happy it's planned, I would very much welcome it as a feature.
Thanks

jshotrosky

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:44 am

Post by jshotrosky » Sat Mar 13, 2021 1:22 am
It's been over a year and a half since this has been brought up. From what I can tell, this feature is still not available. Am I missing something? Is this feature still planned? Has it been dropped?

Thanks.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Mar 15, 2021 11:19 am
Hi jshotrosky,

This is still something we plan to do, however as it hasn't been highly requested compared to other features it hasn't been a priority to implement.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

asdffdsa6131

Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:15 pm

Post by asdffdsa6131 » Thu Mar 18, 2021 5:26 am
what is it you are trying to do?
maybe there is a work around.

jshotrosky

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:44 am

Post by jshotrosky » Thu Mar 18, 2021 5:54 am
2 things I'm trying to accomplish for remote workstations

1. Get Computer GPOs to apply (happens at startup before the user signs in)
2. Let a user sign in with their domain account on a new computer (for when a replacement computer is shipped to them)

I've looked into third party apps to run Viscosity as a service. AlwaysUp works but the cost is pretty high. I also tried NSSM but I could never configure it correctly.

asdffdsa6131

Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:15 pm

Post by asdffdsa6131 » Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:10 am
not sure this will help

i keep the username and paswords in keepass.
some vpn connections require a OTP

i have a autohotkey script that calculates the OTP and starts the vpn connection, auto-types username, password, OTP.
autohotkey can do most anything.

jshotrosky

Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:44 am

Post by jshotrosky » Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:23 am
AHK doesn't help with Viscosity's inability to run before a user session starts. What you're describing sounds like you're using AHK to automatically connect Viscosity when the user logs in. You can already do that if you use certificates for authentication instead of user credentials. Maybe I'm misunderstanding?

I appreciate the suggestion though!
11 posts Page 1 of 2