Proxy Auto Configure mode in Viscosity

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

Nootoko

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:02 pm

Post by Nootoko » Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:40 pm
Greetings to all geniuses.

Do Viscosity has the Proxy Auto Configure mode like other Shawdowsocks-like clients have as a default.

If not, why?

I think this kind of function is very useful for users from mainland China who need to switch their networks frequently and automatically.

James

User avatar
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:34 pm
Hi Nootoko,

Viscosity is a OpenVPN client. Like all VPN clients, it is able to tunnel your network traffic through the VPN connection at the IP level. You do not need to configure the OS or applications to use a proxy server to use the tunnel like you need to do with a proxy-like connection such as Shadowsocks.

By default Shadowsocks operates like a SOCKS proxy, and typically requires that you set a proxy server in macOS to use it. This is not required by VPN clients like Viscosity.

If for some reason you do require a proxy server to be automatically set while connected to your VPN connection, you can find the configuration commands for doing so at the link below. The "proxy-automatic" command will let you set an automatic proxy configuration file.
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... y-commands

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

Nootoko

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:02 pm

Post by Nootoko » Fri Sep 17, 2021 7:24 pm
Thank you James, the info you provide with me is actually what I need to know.

However, I'm not sure if it is what I was seeking for, because I don't know what does "If DNS mode is set to full" mean? I have lacked the background info about that.

Nootoko

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:02 pm

Post by Nootoko » Fri Sep 17, 2021 9:47 pm
Sun Sep 12, 2021 3:34 pmJames wrote:

https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... y-commands
Thank you James, the link you provide with me is actually what I need to know.

However, I'm not sure if it is what I was seeking for, because I don't know what does "If DNS mode is set to full" mean. :?: I have lack of background info about that. :cry:

James

User avatar
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:50 am
Information on the available DNS Modes can be found at:
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/ar ... #dns-modes

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
5 posts Page 1 of 1