App Support.

We're here to help.



Problem Saving Details Into The Keychain

Viscosity allows users to save their VPN login details, certificate passwords, and proxy login details into the macOS Keychain by ticking the "Remember these details in the Keychain" checkbox when prompted. If this checkbox is being ticked, but Viscosity continues to prompt for login details, there are a number of things to check:

Keychain Entry Corruption

Existing Keychain entries made by Viscosity can become corrupted in rare instances and hence should be removed. This can be done like so:

  1. Go to /Applications/Utilities and open the Keychain Access application
  2. Use the search box to search for the saved details by entering "Viscosity". All saved connections by Viscosity should appear.
  3. Look for the appropriate search results. Viscosity will save Keychain entries as an "application password" as two separate entries: one for your username and one for your password.
  4. Delete the items. Repeat the above steps if you have multiple connections.
  5. Quit and reopen Viscosity, and try connecting again.

Viscosity should be quit and reopened, and the user attempt to save their details again, once the above steps have been performed.

Keychain Issue

The most serious cause for Viscosity failing to remember login details is that there is a problem with the user's Keychain. Recent versions of macOS removed the "Keychain First Aid" functionality, instead replacing it with a "Reset My Default Keychain" option. However this option will complete reset the Keychain, resulting in all existing saved passwords, certificates, notes being lost (not just those associated with Viscosity). It should only be used as a last resort, and all important items should be backed up first.

The first step to resolving any potential problem is to run a Keychain repair like so:

  1. Open the Keychain Access application. This can be found at /Applications/Utilities/Keychain Access.app
  2. Go to the File menu and select Preferences
  3. Click the "Reset My Default Keychains" button

Viscosity should be quit and reopened, and the user attempt to save their details again, once the above steps have been performed.

Enterprise Configuration

If the "Remember these details in the Keychain" checkbox is disabled, your VPN administrator may have disabled the ability to save login details into the Keychain to increase security. In this instance you should contact your VPN administrator for more information.